fbpx

Texas License to Carry (LTC/CHL)

Official Online Training Course

Certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190

Complete the course online to claim your 2021 Texas LTC

Applying for a Texas License to Carry (LTC) has been made easier thanks to Texas House Bill 3748.

TX Conceal & Carry is authorized by the State of Texas to deliver the classroom instruction portion of the LTC training requirement and administer the written exam to applicants completely online.

Certified under the Texas GC411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course (classroom instruction only).

Learn on any device.
At your own pace.

After you register, login at your convenience to study the material on any device. When you feel comfortable with the material, you can then take the certification exam. Take it as many times as you’d like until achieving a passing score.

firearm-students-01

This is the best way to get your LTC. Period. My husband got his a few years back, so I decided to get mine before the election. I enrolled in the training which was simple and straightforward. After I got my LTC-101 I went to my local range for the range exam and I now have my LTC. Highly Recommend.

Christina S

Texas Resident

sergio-arellano
My brother-in-law recommended I get my LTC online with everything going on right now. I was a bit skeptical but called in and the support was extremely helpful. After I signed up for the training, took the online test and then took the live fire portion I got my LTC about a week or so later.

Kevin E.

Nevada Resident

Texas LTC Reciprocity Map

The following map highlights the U.S. states that currenly honor the Texas LTC (aka concealed carry permit). 

Permit Honored

Permit NOT Honored

FAQ's

Yes. We are certified under TX GC 411.188 & 411.190 to administer the online License to Carry Course.

In 2017 Texas Legislature passed a bill allowing for the classroom portion of the Texas LTC course to be taught online by a select group of approved online course providers.

This can be verified by contacting your Texas Department of Public Safety at 512-424-7293.

Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders. The state eligibility requirements can be found in GC §411.172. The federal firearms disqualifiers can be found in 18 USC 44 §922.
After you’ve paid and registered you will receive an email. Simply re-visit this website and log in. Once you are logged in you will access the online course materials by visiting the Dashboard and be able to take your license exam.
Once you purchase the course it is yours to complete at your leisure. There is no time limit. However, you must complete the four course modules and study those modules for a minimum of 4 hours total before the exam is unlocked which is a state requirement.
DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing.

No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport-style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state-issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.

Initial licenses are valid for four years. Renewal licenses are valid for five years.
DWI is classified as at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. For the purpose of determining eligibility, a conviction includes those that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication.
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office or district attorney.